Why I Pray the Rosary

It has only been in the last few years that I have tried to make praying the rosary a part of my everyday life. When my children were getting to high school age, I became more aware of all that could lead them from the most important thing in life, which is to love and serve the Lord. I wanted them to know their value and worth as children of God. I hope that we taught them well, but the world has other ideas, and they are not in the best interest of our children. How could I pray enough for them? I prayed the rosary off and on for them, but I’m sorry to say that I never really made it a habit.

More recently, I don’t know if it was because of age (or wisdom😉), I kept thinking about the rosary. It is a. big. deal. in Catholic prayer life. Why was I ignoring it? Shouldn’t I at least try it on a regular basis? Wouldn’t it be a benefit to my family? The hard part for me was overcoming the feeling that I might be bored with the repetition day after day.

Finally, I decided that it shouldn’t matter if I was bored. The reason for my prayer was not for my own interest, but for obedience, devotion to the Lord, and action. If action was the purpose, then I should pray with thoughtfulness and with intention. By intention, I mean that I should “state my intention(s)” as I offered the specific prayers of the rosary.

I try to say my rosary the first thing in the morning but I’ll say it any time I can. I offer my intentions for whatever is most on my mind. Always, my husband and children are first. Extended family, friends, health issues, social issues, anything and everything is offered. I know these prayers are united with my Blessed Mother’s prayers and offered to her Son. I am fully confident of her attention to these prayers of my heart. I intend to continue, as much as possible, every day. I’ll let you know how that goes. 🙂 Here are a few more thoughts on the rosary My Mother Mary

Happy Feastday of Our Lady of the Rosary! Our Lady of the Rosary, pray for us!

Photo by MyLovelyFaith

This Scriptural Rosary Book has been really helpful for me to think and meditate on the mysteries. You can learn how to pray the rosary at https://www.usccb.org/how-to-pray-the-rosary

Let me know your Rosary stories and your advice for continuing on.

In hope,

Peggy

The Rosary is my favorite prayer. Marvelous in it’s simplicity and depth…Against the background of the words Ave Maria the principal events of the life of Jesus Christ pass before the eyes of the soul… At the same time our heart can embrace in the decades of the Rosary all the events that make up the lives of individuals, families, nations, the Church, all mankind: our personal concerns and those of our neighbor, especially those who are closest to us, who are dearest to us. Thus the simple prayer of the Rosary marks the rhythm of human life. -Pope St. John Paul II (1920-2005) October 29, 1978

About Peggy

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Feast Days, Mary, Rosary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why I Pray the Rosary

  1. Pingback: Why It’s Good to Pray the Rosary for Non-Catholics | My Lovely Faith

Leave a comment