When Prayer Isn’t Enough

Prayer is always good. Always. But, for those times in life when action is required, I fast.

“What more can I do?” These words are a question I’ve asked myself when the obvious course of action is not, well, obvious.  I don’t wait patiently. Fasting is the silent action, invisible to all but God, which satisfies my “do something now” anxiety.  When a huge decision needs to be made, when I feel helpless, or when someone I care about is facing a serious situation, I fast for a morning or an afternoon and repeat as necessary.p1020501

Here are two Bible references about fasting I think of the most.

  • When prayerful efforts fail to solve a problem:

The apostles failed to heal a boy with convulsions and Jesus told them, “This kind cannot be driven out by anything but prayer and fasting.” Mark 9:29 

  • When I need to hear from the Holy Spirit:

While they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul to the work for which I have called them.” Then after fasting and praying they laid their hands on them and sent them off.  Acts: 13:2, 3  

Lent starts soon. What reason can you find to fast?

In hope,

Peggy

 

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Prayer Isn’t Enough

  1. Desiray says:

    The bible tells us that somethings only come out through prayer and fasting.

Leave a Reply

