His Most Awesome Name

jesus    Did you miss it?  Had I not opened my Laudate app, I would have missed it, too. When I woke yesterday I had no idea what a special day it was.   Tucked into the frenzy of special commemoration days related to Christmas is the Feast of the Most Holy Name of Jesus. You probably wonder why I care so much?  It is because names mean a lot to our family. Our children were named as much for the meaning of their names as the names themselves, and they know why they were chosen. At the mention of a name we may feel love, joy, anxiety, fear, hate, or indifference. The name Jesus means “God saves.”  How do you react at the mention of His name?  This is what comes to my mind ~

jesus-door

The door of Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. Photo taken by me!

In Jesus’ Name:  We ask.  We plead.  We search. We knock.

In Jesus’ Name: Hate shrivels. Evil cowers.  Doubt vanishes. Fear diminishes.

 In Jesus’ Name:  We are forgiven. We are healed. We are saved. We adore. We offer. We stand.    We are loved. We are made new. We love in return.

“There is no salvation through anyone else, nor is there any other name under heaven given to the human race by which we are to be saved.”   (Acts 4:14, NAB, RE)

I love His Holy Name. Next year I’ll be ready for this feast and it won’t catch me by surprise. My prayer is that in contemplating the Most Holy Name of Jesus, you find joy.

In hope,

Peggy

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith, Feast Days and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

