I Didn’t Have to Wait for Heaven

As I stood on the steps of the altar my legs were quivering and I had tears in my eyes.  No, I wasn’t scared or sad. I was overwhelmed that what I thought would only happen in Heaven was happening to me at that moment.

Back up 18 years or so…when I first heard David Kaufman’s music, it gripped my heart.   I may or may not have cried.   I loved that music! At the time I had this cool idea, and  whispered a silent prayer to God.  “Lord, when I get to Heaven, can I please stand next to David and sing with him?”  Yes, I actually said that prayer and have repeated it over the years.  My voice would never be good enough on earth, but in heaven?   I’m certain it will be enhanced a bit and possibly worthy of a duet!David Kaufman Choir 2

When I found out David and Bill Gokelman were coming to St. Martha, I was excited. When I found out they wanted a group to sing with them, I was beside myself with anticipation.  I’ve prayed with David’s quiet, reflective music for years – at church, through prayerful Good Fridays, during retreats and even a rough emotional move to Barcelona. NEVER did I imagine this grace – to sing with him on earth.

I didn’t have to wait for heaven. Heaven was here.David Kaufman and Peggy - Copy

Sometimes, the Lord just overwhelms. 

So here I am with David. I smiled like a goofball all night. I couldn’t help it!

In hope,                                                   Peggy

Curious?  Search David Kaufman on youtube

Purchase David’s music on iTunes and here.

 

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith, Inspirational Music, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

