Precious Body and Blood

Could it be that Jesus’ love for me is so fantastic and large that he would agree to let me eat his own body and drink his own blood? Who am I, that he would love me so much, to want to be that close to me?

My Lovely Faith

And he took bread, and when he had given thanks he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” 20 And likewise the cup after supper, saying, “This cup which is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood.”   (Luke 22:19,20 RSV)

This Catholic teaching is a difficult one to grasp and to believe. In fact, it has always been questioned, from the very first moment Jesus’ words were uttered. Who wouldn’t argue that this is a very strange concept for the everyday mortal to grasp? Eating and drinking the flesh and blood of another person is hardly a great marketing tool to increase numbers to the faith.  But I don’t think Jesus was kidding when he said, “For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.”  (John 6:55…

View original post 541 more words

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

