My Jesus Loves Me

Last September we welcomed a new little class of 3 year old sweethearts into our Mother’s Day Out program.  It was The First Day, and my co-teacher and I were ready.  We were excited. This year we had new ideas and plans.  As the 12 little children started to arrive,   I remembered…

The First Day is not fun.

Mommies, daddies, and various family members entered in a rush as their shy little cuties hung on to mom for dear life.  “Lovies” were clutched close and tears fell with goodbyes.  (And I’m not just talking about the children.)

The day was a whirlwind of play, stories, circle time, snack, more play, outside play, learning to line up, lunch, and finally….nap.  Exhausted at this point from the stress of  The First Day, our little cuties saw their familiar nap mat from home and practically threw themselves on it.

MDO CrucifixExcept for one little guy.  Down on his mat. Up from his mat.  He wandered the room until he found what he was looking for.  As I started to coax him back to his mat he looked up to me with his huge brown eyes and angel face.  He stuck his little fist up in the air to show me the little plastic crucifix from the prayer table and he announced, “My Jesus loves me.”   Be still my heart.  Life slowed down all around me as I looked at that precious child, who already knew what too many forget.

My Jesus loves me.

Precious child set the cross next to his mat and fell asleep looking at his Jesus.  He still does this.

Perhaps it’s time to follow the lead of a little child.

We have come to know and believe in the love God has for us.
God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God in him.   – 1 John 4:16 (NAB)

In hope,                                                                                                                                                  Peggy

 

 

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

