Saying Goodbye, and Hello

I was Al Angelino’s daughter-in-law for more than 30 years, but our relationship was respectful more than close. We never had long talks that I can remember. I knew his love through his attention to our children and his determination to be present during big life events.  My fond memory is of him laughing so hard that he cried.  My husband has that same laugh.

imageEarlier in December I wrote a letter to him. He was dying. He was constantly on my mind and I wanted him to know that I loved him.  Although we were far apart,  I felt connected to him.

He died December 19th, and he’s still constantly on my mind.  I find it completely normal to talk to him. Could it be that we will be more connected now than when he was alive?  This is the question that I sit with each day.

My father-in-law was a very intelligent  man.  He earned an MSME and an MBA.  In 1964, he was one of the few civilians who qualified as the Engineering Officer of the Watch who was responsible for directing the control of the nuclear reactor in Navy nuclear vessels. His library is full of high level math and science books.

image

I’ve heard very smart people say that their scientific minds won’t allow for their belief in God, because He can’t be “proven.”  I’m here to tell you that Al Angelino had a great scientific mind,  and he believed!  He actively spoke of mercy and redemption as he led retreats and Bible studies for inmates at several prisons in upstate New York. If you asked him how his scientific mind could “believe,” he would assure you that  there was no discrepancy between science and belief. (In fact, I can imagine a little scoffing at the thought of someone using that argument as an excuse.)  Then he’d send you a book to help you in your search for the truth.

I am looking forward to this new relationship with my father-in-law.  Thanks, Dad, for your love and belief.

In hope,
Peggy

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Catholic Beliefs, Death, Faith, Mercy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saying Goodbye, and Hello

Leave a Reply

