In My Arrogance

I love to listen to talk radio, especially when I’m driving.   Not  the talk shows that get you worked up and anxious, but the shows that teach something and inspire one to be better are worth my time. I’ve written about this before here.  https://wordpress.com/post/52887840/352/

Many years ago I was listening to Charles Swindoll’s radio show called “Insight for Living.”  He said something that transformed my life. It literally changed my thought process.  Now it was a long time ago so I’m going to have to remember the quote as best I can.  Here is what I remember.  “Any person who says that they are without sin stands in arrogance before God.  Let me say it again.  Any person who says that they are without sin stands in arrogance before God.”

P1000113Do you know what my first thought was?  Well that’s an arrogant thing to say!  And I stewed with that thought as he talked on.  Finally (in my arrogance) I smugly said, “Okay God, I really can’t think of any sins I’ve committed lately, so if I’ve sinned, you show me.

And he did.

Ever so graciously, in my thoughts and conscience, God revealed to me my sins.  God is good, all the time.  I’m grateful for the challenging words that brought me (okay, smacked me) into reality that day.  And do you know what? God continues to gently and kindly show me when my actions fall short of what he expects from me.  But I have hope, because God forgives.  His grace to be strong and wise is granted through the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

P1000110If you would like to know more about the Sacrament of  Reconciliation, your local church is a good place to start.  Just go. Tell the priest you haven’t been in a while (or never) and he will guide you through.  All are welcome.

In hope,

Peggy

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

