Lay It Down

“Everything I am, everything I long to be, I lay it down at your feet.”

This is the first line of the song “Lay It Down” by Matt Maher. It’s one of my favorites. But when I sing and pray the words I inevitably start to wonder if I really mean it. When push comes to shove, when it’s my will or HIS will, can I really lay down all that I am and all that I long for? Can I accept His will and plan for me? I certainly hope so by the grace of God!

Photo by Two-Eleven Photography

Photo by Two-Eleven Photography

Take a long look at the picture above. What do you see? During an Ordination Mass, the priestly candidate is called to prostrate himself (lie face down) before the altar of the Lord. “It symbolizes his unworthiness for the office to be assumed and his dependence upon God and the prayers of the Christian community.” (www.usccb.org)  He lays down his own life, or dies to it, and takes up the life of the priest as a servant of the church. Clearly these men can say, “Everything I am, everything I long to be, I lay it down at your feet.”

Photo Courtesy of Two-Eleven Photography

Photo Courtesy of Two-Eleven Photography

What love! What joy!  We as the church can celebrate and proclaim “Thanks be to God!”  I pray to have that much love.  How about you?

In hope,
Peggy

“May God who has begun the good work in you bring it to fulfillment.” (from the Rite of Ordination to the Priesthood)

The bishop says: “Accept from the holy people of God the gifts to be offered to him. Know what you are doing, and imitate the mystery you celebrate: model your life on the mystery of the Lord’s cross.”   (from the Rite of Ordination to the Priesthood: Presentation of the Gifts)

“Believe what you read, teach what you believe, and practice what you teach.” (from the Rite of Ordination to the Diaconate)

Featured header photo by Two-Eleven Photography

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith, Ordination, Sacraments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

