Beware of Those Funny Paper Headlines!

I opened my browser this morning and was drawn to another headline claiming that Pope Francis said something incredible and church-changing.  My reaction to this headline was – wait…..wwhhhhaaatttt?  That doesn’t sound right.

So even though most of these links are time wasters, I couldn’t pass on this one.  I read the WHOLE article and sure enough, the very claim of the headline was not even supported by the source author.  In fact, the piece was an editorial of an editorial.  The writers were no Catholic experts, that’s for sure.

Don’t get me wrong, I believe Pope Francis says and does some amazing stuff.  I just don’t believe the funny papers.

There are exceptional resources out there.  Please see my “Expert Resources” page for some ideas, but if you want to know what we teach, The Catechism of the Catholic Church and YouCat (for youth and adults) are a good place to start.

Please share your expert resources with us.

In hope,

Peggy

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Catholic Beliefs, Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

