Bored and Unaffected

You take the time to go to Mass and you leave feeling…nothing.  You’re talking to someone who seems to know what’s going on at Mass and you tell them, “Mass is boring.  I don’t really get anything out of it.”

I’ve heard this.  What do you say to that? Keep going? Try harder?  Put more into it?  Well, yeah, actually.

St. Cebria, Valldoreix, Spain

Adoration after daily Mass, St. Cebria, Valldoreix, Spain

I’ve gone to Mass my entire life. I can remember the day my Mom left me in the pew by myself for the first time to receive Communion.  She reassured me she’d be back!  I totally get that something done so repeatedly can get old.  But maybe we’re expecting more from Mass than we should. If we expect to only get something and not give something during Mass we may be disappointed and disillusioned.  People and priests are human and may or may not please everyone.

So what do we give?

Ourselves.  Maybe you never heard this before, but we are gifts to each other.  Maybe we should start looking at each other that way.

Our Preparation.  The Mass readings are available online at http://www.usccb.org under “Daily Readings.”  Read them and  pray with them before Mass so that the Lord can speak to you.

Our Time.   We could be anywhere else on any given Sunday but we choose to be at Mass.  I kind of think God honors that, don’t you?

Our Attention.   In the Spanish language instead of saying “pay” attention we say “give” attention.   When my kids were little I had a hard time “giving” my attention at Mass.  A spiritual director recommended that I quietly say all of the words the priest speaks, even moving my lips if it helped me keep focused.  I still do that  sometimes.

Our Response.  Your voice is absolutely essential.  Pray. Sing.  Find a Mass with music that you like.  I say that as a musician! There’s not anything more annoying to me than the wrong type of music and not much more inspiring than good music.

Finally, receive the Lord in Communion with an open and expectant heart.  Trust Him to give you all you hope for.  Please don’t give up!

In hope,

Peggy

 

 

 

 

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith, The Mass and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bored and Unaffected

  1. Anonymous says:

    I like this, Peggy, the suggestion of giving. And really, it’s important to search out a celebrant and music that appeals to you – and sometimes that’s not your parish church – but keep looking. Thanks for the blog. mg

  2. Carol says:

    Great reflection, Peggy! Makes me stop and think. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

