Mass Moments

In my brain I often rush from thing to thing, event to event, and chore to chore. Years ago  I was the respiratory therapist on call for a Denver company. One weekend,  Tom and I decided to head into the mountains for a day trip. If I ventured too far away from Denver my pager wouldn’t work, so we chose a destination that we felt was safe for receiving signals.  Problem was, the whole time we explored I was worried that my pager would go off.  My motto when on call was to “hurry up and have fun” before I was called away.  I found it hard to relax and appreciate the moment when I carried the pager. I hated that thing!St. Cebria

It’s years later and now I try very hard to relax and appreciate the moments of life, especially when things get hectic.  Not saying it’s easy or I’m always successful, mind you, but I try.

Are you wondering where this is going?

Mass.  That’s where it’s going.  Last week I went to Mass, received Holy Communion, returned to my pew, and promptly started to plan a trip to Lowes.  So much for being in the moment.  Here’s what I could have missed, had I not pulled myself back to appreciate the present:  a procession of souls, one following the other, going forward to receive the Lord of Life into their bodies.  I study their faces and wonder what joys or sorrows they bring forward.  We come empty and alone ~ hopefully with anticipation and awe ~ to receive the One that will change and transform us.  Having received Him, we return,  now  one with each other ~ not alone but united in the Lord.

This is what I love to do ~ watch the procession during Communion.   There is an otherworldly sensation which comes over me sometimes as I watch this mystery unfold.  While I’m tempted to make this time of the Mass a personal “Jesus and me” time, that’s not what it is about.   We receive Jesus and are one in Him and with each other. Together we give thanks and then we return to the world.  It is as if a light bursts forth from the altar and is carried in each one of us into our homes and beyond.  Can you imagine it?

I’d love to hear your favorite Mass moments.  Feel free to comment below. You don’t need to sign in to do it.  And, if you like My Lovely Faith, you can receive the posts by email ~ just follow me.

In hope,

Peggy

 

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
Aside | This entry was posted in Sacraments, The Mass and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mass Moments

  1. Carol Bateman says:

    I agree with you – watching the people as they receive the Body & Blood of Christ is awesome. Another great moment is watching the little children go up with their Mom or Dad. Most have no idea what it’s all about but some look on the priest or deacon with what looks like awe and wonder.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I do the same…when Im not in my selfish “me” mode. I pray for each person as they receive and ask God to Bless them. Its a glorious time and I often wonder if anyone else around me can feel it. I hope so….Your words are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

