Offer Hope

Have you seen the movie, Hunger Games: Catching Fire?  I thought it was a good movie!  Remember the sign of defiance that is repeated several times – the one where a hand is raised in solidarity with the victim-heroes of the games?   I relate to that sign.  If you know me, then you know what I do.

When concern, revulsion, injustice, love for family and neighbor, and love of peace collide and create an internal explosion of energy to right a wrong, then it’s time to do something. Every Monday morning I take a stand and work in defiance of a terrible wrong, and the work that I do makes a difference.  I know it does because I see  lives changed, each one a huge flair of hope in a battle far from won.

How did I get to this place?  I am generally cautious and somewhat timid to “defy” a norm.  The answer is this: to do nothing is more disturbing to my spirit than to step out in action.  First steps were timid, yes, but as with most things for me, the more I do something the easier it is and the wiser I become.

What about you? During this Christmas season I pray that you continue to draw closer to the Lord of Hope.  As you plan your new year, I pray that you find a way to right a wrong, to offer hope, and to be a light to someone who needs your help.  Let’s honor the Lord and serve Him together.

In hope,

Peggy

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

