I Forgive You – Part 1

We were driving down Manchester Blvd. P1000507near St. Louis when my youngest, then  just a little girl, said,  “Mom, remember when I disobeyed you?  (She then described her poor judgment choice in detail.)   I glanced back and told her I didn’t remember.  So she told me about it again, in detail, as if she really wanted me to remember.  My answer was still no!  “Kate, I have no idea what you are talking about.  I don’t remember you doing that!”

A few moments of silence passed and a thought came to me.  “Katelyn, when you disobeyed me, did you say you were sorry?  Yes.  “Did I tell you I forgive you?”  Yes.

Slowly the revelation dawned bright and happy in me ~ this is what happens when we are sorry for our sins and confess them to God.  We are forgiven.  I jumped on this teachable moment and had my short little religious education class right there in the car.

I have no recollection of the incident Katelyn mentioned.  In my mind it didn’t happen.  She asked forgiveness, I forgave, and all was forgotten.  I assume there was some type of discipline that followed.  Can’t tell you what it was, though,  because the incident is gone from my memory.  But Katelyn didn’t forget, and for some reason, she thought it was a good idea to remind me of it.

I do that too.    I beat myself up over and over and remind God of my sin even after I have asked for forgiveness and have been forgiven!  What good is that?  Who wants to embarrass himself repeatedly over the same offense?  Don’t  I know that God loves me even more than I love my children?  Isn’t he ready to forgive me as I forgive my children? I take great comfort in knowing that.

Since the Lord chose to endure the horror of the cross for my redemption,  shouldn’t I honor him by accepting his gift of pardon and grace?

Dear Lord, I bow to you and thank you for  your immeasurable mercy, forgiveness, and grace.   Amen

“In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace.” (Ephesians 1:7-8,  RSV-CE)

In hope,

Peggy

http://www.stmarthaaff.com/reconciliation-t-46_104.html

About Peggy Angelino

Peggy and her husband, Tom, live in the Houston area. They have three young adult children. She is a former Respiratory Therapist and earned a Catechist Certificate in 2012 from the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.
This entry was posted in Sacraments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

